konalavadome

New Songwriter - Any good songwriting books?

• 13 Replies

MelodyMaker

• Busker
« on: August 08, 2012, 06:48:57 PM »
Hey everyone!
Wow, there are so many amazing lyricists in here! I'm pretty new to songwriting/lyric writing and was wondering if anyone out there would know of any great books that would help me progress in my songwriting career? I'm a huge fan of Taylor Swift, Miranda Lambert, and Carrie Underwood if that helps? Just need a book that would help me have a broader understanding of songwriting and creating hit songs. If you come across anything let me know, and I'll do the same!  ;D

Thanks!
-Melody

S.T.C

• Stadium Tour
  • American Cars........out now
    • http://oldsongsnew.com/
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2012, 08:02:51 PM »
Hmmm, do you think all the great songwriters read a book to make their music?

The Corsair

• Platinum Album
  • I'm the latest model Johnny
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2012, 12:37:35 AM »
Do you think those artists are great songwriters?
Defective Elector

Picker

• Busker
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2012, 05:52:46 AM »
Wow, nice answers, I guess the only craft or skill that doesn't require practice and education is songwriting.  I guess you're either born with it or not.

Ignore these Melody.  I would recomend Pat Pattison. He is a proffersor of lyric writing at Berkeley University, the music college.  His book is more about to practicing creative writing, so it puts you to work instead of reading.  He has two books, but I can't remember the names of them just Google his name you'll find his website and a whole bunch of information there, and links to his books.  Look up object writing to get started.

Ah, here are the names of his books. I would recommend the songwriting without boundaries but they are both good.

Songwriting without boundaries
Rating better lyrics second edition

S.T.C

• Stadium Tour
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2012, 08:21:08 AM »