A case of writer's dread - what to do?

• 6 Replies

punranger

• Busker
« on: March 14, 2023, 07:48:09 PM »
Hi guys and gals, I just joined. Instead of searching the forum and the web for existing answers, I jump right in and ask for advice here, like no ever's asked the question before. It might be that I just need to vent and beg for a little sympathy. So please forgive my transgressions. Here goes:

I'm primarily a musician and composer. I've finished an album's worth of melodies, with representative demos of arrangements. The funny thing that happened was that almost all these melodies came to me by divine inspiration. I just sat down and started clunking the ivories, and all these ideas poured out. It was also apparent to me that these tunes were SONGS, they needed words. Now, I'm a fairly able writer generally. Most of the tunes I've written in the past have been instrumentals, and writing lyrics always came second to writing melodies. But I could always rip out a few lines of verse.

But now, I'm having a special case of writer's block: the writer's dread. I pretty much decided on the topics for my tunes. That part was quite easy, as the music speaks to me directly. I even got some of the basic rhymes worked out. But now I've been working on these tunes for the better part of a year, and where I previously spent an afternoon banging out the words, and usually was quite pleased with the result, this time around I'm suddenly full of dread. I can't seem to finalize a single song. I find this so frustrating, given that the tunes just rolled off the fingers, I know the mood I'm aiming for, and I've got a lot of rhymes worked out. But all of a sudden, the process has become forced. How I wish I could continue in the playful mode I was in when I came up with the tunes...