I just can't do it...HELP!

• 21 Replies

IrishGuy

• Busker
« on: December 14, 2014, 04:06:38 PM »
Take this for procrastination if you want, I know for a fact it's not.

In order to get into BIMM (A college for musicians) I need to perform a song I wrote and also have plenty of proof that I'm an active songwriter as the course isn't for absolute beginners.
So, I need portfolio work (the proof) and at most 3 songs prepared in case the examiner wishes to hear another...
Here's my problem, it's a depressing dark December day, I wake up at 1pm or whatever, home alone.
I eat and maybe put on a record for a while, (this morning I listened to Hotel California and Sonic Highways) and then play video games or do a bit of study for school. It's a fairly dead day with a house to myself so I pick up my guitar and mess around. If I somehow come up with a little nice sounding riff, I'll rush to my iPad and record it, realising it sounds exactly like another riff. Sitting at a guitar has become painful as I know that I'll end up thinking I got something but it's actually just a subconscious copycat riff. I can't come up with anything. I plan to have many songs to show at my audition which is around March/April but I can't do anything!

I can stare at people's advice saying, try Verse Chorus Verse Chorus etc etc but it's not that simple.
I eventually just leave the guitar alone for a while as I begin to get annoyed and I don't want to end up hating trying to write. I have a notebook with seemingly useless phrases in it and I'm ALRIGHT at guitar. I just really need someone to help me start getting work out of this. It's so difficult.
Maybe I'm just trying to fit my ideas into a lot of things:

I want people to like it.
I want it to be catchy.
Not too depressing.
Not too many "sunny LA beach happy" chords.
Not too like Foo Fighters.
Not too like Nirvana.
Not too slow and acoustic... (which I end up doing all the time)