konalavadome

This is how I do it, is there a better way?

• 2 Replies

Jamie

• Stadium Tour
« on: September 17, 2014, 05:16:00 PM »
Hi all, not sure if this is the right place for this, but here goes. I'm a relative newbie to songwriting and as such my thinking is that the more songs I write the more likely I am to improve.now I recognise that this is not a given, but common sense suggests that the more you practice something the more likely you are to improve( of course then the notion of talent comes into view, but i'll leave that aside for the moment).

So when I get an idea for a song I tend to write it very quickly. I have a 'stock' of lyrical ideas that occasionally I'll get inspired to work with and sometimes it works with a musical idea eg a chord progression that I've had around for a while, but essentially it's a fairly quick process. Once I have an idea of the structure of the song I start to do a rough demo of the song, and by a process of osmosis/elimination etc I end up with a song that is largely how I want it to be, and because I tend to have songs 'backed up' I stop at maybe 80/90% of the level I could record it to myself. I have a low boredom threshold and I tend to move on fairly quickly so I don't polish the song as much as some contributors to the forum do. But I'm not commenting on anyone else's process merely outlining mine.

My thinking is that 'someday' I'll write some songs that I'm really pleased with and I'll either polish them up as much as I can or seek some help to record them. Is this a reasonable way to work? Or should,I really work hard on the majority of my writing to get as near to ' radio ready',as possible?

I didn't start doing this because I wanted to learn how to produce and record music, but because I want to write songs and have them played, so my primary thing is the song. However, I've recognised that I need to learn the basics, and I'm sure I've learned a lot over the last year or so.