konalavadome

Demo of a WIP- Pennies

• 18 Replies

Jamie

• Stadium Tour
« on: March 21, 2014, 04:32:06 PM »
A song about mortality. I was thinking about the mythological figure Kharon who was the ferryman who carried the dead to Hades. In order to be safely delivered he had to be paid and the myth said the pennies were carried in the dead persons mouth. If you didn't pay you were left in the wilderness for 100 years.....Originally I was thinking of a song about the mythology but the rhyming of Persephone, Hades etc put me off ;).
Ended up with contemporary scenes for the verses with the chorus reverting to the mythology.

I think this song sounds like a stage song, of which I have no knowledge or experience, any ideas? It's a bit rough but you'll get the idea ;D
 Does it work?

https://soundcloud.com/jamie1802/pennies
Pennies

I walked the streets in the rain
Clouds rolling in my veins
The rain falls like victims tears
I'm wondering what I'm doing here

Headlights fly by like neon birds
Newspapers without any words
The wind blows down the street
All the Kings horses fall at my feet

Chorus
Pennies in our mouths we row to the shore, to the shore
If we cant pay the ferryman well wonder here forever more

Crowds of people standing by they're
Asking questions I don't know why
I lie there in my innocence
I don't know if I make any sense

Chorus

hardtwistmusic

• Stadium Tour
  • Central Oregon Sunset
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2014, 04:47:54 PM »
This READS the best of all your lyrics I've seen.  As you know, how it sounds is more important... but this is impressive imo.

If it were me, I wouldn't take the lyric too much further.  Leave a lot of space for musical accompaniment between the lyrical sections, don't try to "close the loop" on the story with an "ending." 

Heck... the "ending" occurred when the guy died didn't it?

With this kind of song, leaving a lot unexplained is a positive imo. 

Good luck.  Great lyric imo.